83 Results
83 Results
The gown : a novel of the royal wedding —Robson, Jennifer, 1970- author.
Book
2019
22 available of 40 items

"London, 1947: Besieged by the harshest winter in living memory, burdened by onerous shortages and rationing, the people of postwar Britain are enduring lives of quiet desperation despite their nation's recent victory. A...

Woman in the shadows : a novel —Thynne, Jane, author.
Book
2016
7 available of 9 items

"Perfect for fans of Alan Furst, Kristin Hannah, and Jacqueline Winspear, here is the next exciting historical novel featuring Clara Vine, the actress and British spy in prewar Germany who maneuvers through the treachero...

Best kept secret —Archer, Jeffrey, 1940-
Book
2013
66 available of 75 items

Cometh the hour —Archer, Jeffrey, 1940-
Book
2016
77 available of 86 items

The crown. The complete 2nd season
DVD
2018
14 available of 34 items

The British Empire is in decline, the political world is in disarray, and a young woman takes the throne ... a new era is dawning. Queen Elizabeth II is a 25-year-old newlywed faced with the daunting prospect of leading ...

Lady Clementine —Benedict, Marie, author.
Book
2020
0 available of 19 items

A historical tale inspired by the life of Clementine Churchill that traces her unflinching role in protecting the life and wartime agendas of her husband, Winston Churchill.

The gown a novel of the royal wedding —Robson, Jennifer, 1970- author.
Book On CD
2019
1 available of 2 items

"London, 1947: Besieged by the harshest winter in living memory, burdened by onerous shortages and rationing, the people of postwar Britain are enduring lives of quiet desperation despite their nation's recent victory. A...

Impossible saints —Harwood, Clarissa, author.
Book
2018
19 available of 21 items

"Escaping the constraints of life as a village schoolmistress, Lilia Brooke bursts into London and into Paul Harris's orderly life, shattering his belief that women are gentle creatures who need protection. Lilia wants t...

The gown a novel of the royal wedding —Robson, Jennifer, 1970- author.
Book Club
2019
0 available of 1 items

"London, 1947: Besieged by the harshest winter in living memory, burdened by onerous shortages and rationing, the people of postwar Britain are enduring lives of quiet desperation despite their nation's recent victory. A...

Radio girls —Stratford, Sarah Jane, author.
Book
2016
5 available of 6 items

"The Great War is over, and change is in the air, in this novel that brings to life the exciting days of early British radio ... and one woman who finds her voice while working alongside the brilliant women and men of th...

A single thread —Chevalier, Tracy, author.
Book
2019
24 available of 49 items

1932. After the Great War took both her beloved brother and her fiancé, Violet Speedwell has become a "surplus woman," one of a generation doomed to a life of spinsterhood after the war killed so many young men. Yet Vio...

Warlight : a novel —Ondaatje, Michael, 1943- author.
Book On CD
2018
4 available of 5 items

In 1945, fourteen-year-old Nathaniel and his older sister Rachel stay behind in London when their parents move to Singapore, leaving them in the care of a figure they suspect might be a criminal.

Tightrope —Mawer, Simon, author.
Book
2015
5 available of 6 items

Marian Sutro has survived Ravensbruck and is now back in dreary 1950s London trying to pick up the pieces of her pre-war life. De-briefed by the same shadowy branch of the secret service that sent her to Paris to extract...

The years —Woolf, Virginia, 1882-1941.
Book
2008
0 available of 1 items

Bear no malice —Harwood, Clarissa, author.
Book
2019
19 available of 22 items

Beaten and left for dead in the English countryside, clergyman and reformer Tom Cross is rescued and nursed back to health by Miranda and Simon Thorne, reclusive siblings who seem to have as many secrets as he does. Tom ...

The secret letter —Rix, Debbie, author.
Book
2019
0 available of 1 items

"Germany, 1939: Thirteen-year-old Magda is devastated by the loss of her best friend, shy and gentle Lotte, cruelly snatched from her and sent to a concentration camp, the Star of David sewn on her faded, brown coat. As ...

A single thread a novel —Chevalier, Tracy.
Large Print
2019
6 available of 9 items

1932. After the Great War took both her beloved brother and her fiancé, Violet Speedwell has become a "surplus woman," one of a generation doomed to a life of spinsterhood after the war killed so many young men. Yet Vio...

A single thread —Chevalier, Tracy, author.
Book On CD
2019
6 available of 9 items

1932. After the Great War took both her beloved brother and her fiancé, Violet Speedwell has become a "surplus woman," one of a generation doomed to a life of spinsterhood after the war killed so many young men. Yet Vio...

The forgotten seamstress —Trenow, Liz, author.
Book
2014
5 available of 6 items

Interveaves the story of Maria, a seamstress in the royal household of Buckingham Palace, and Caroline Meadows who discovers a beautiful quilt in her mother's attic.

The golden straw —Cookson, Catherine.
Book
1993
6 available of 7 items

1 2 3 ...